Awards & Scholarships

Section 1


Undergraduate Awards

Laura Bolton Research Development Award

(click for more information)

Janet Tritsch Award

The Janet Tritsch Memorial Award has become a symbol of excellence for undergraduate psychology research at Illinois. The award was established in 1975 by the family and friends of Janet Tritsch, who, as an undergraduate student, was active in psychology research. The award recognizes outstanding research by an undergraduate working in any area of Psychology and is accompanied by a $500 prize.


An outstanding Bachelor's Thesis that has been submitted for Departmental Distinction can be nominated for the Janet Tritsch Memorial Award by the student's research advisor. The research advisor must submit a separate letter of nomination for the Janet Tritsch Memorial Award. The nomination letter must explain why the thesis and the student are particularly exceptional and should receive the special recognition conferred by the Janet Tritsch Memorial Award. The letter of nomination must be submitted, electronically or in paper, to the Secretary for the Associate Head for Undergraduate Affairs (Carleen McCormick, by noon on April 15th.

Julie Sutton Osgood Award

This award was established in the memory of Julie Sutton Osgood, whose life was taken at age 28 by a drunk driver. Julie always wanted to be a doctor. As a psychology student at the University of Illinois, she was trained as an Emergency Medical Technician and worked summers for an ambulance company. After graduation, she completed a paramedic course and worked for the Superior Ambulance Company and then became their EMS coordinator through Christ Hospital and Hope Children's Hospital. A couple of years later, she attended Physician's Assistant School while she continued to work full time. The $500 award was created by the family of Julie Sutton Osgood and is intended to help students realize their dream of becoming either a Physician or another type of medical practitioner.

If you are a senior that plans to continue your education in a medical-related field or school, you should consider applying for the Julie Sutton Osgood Award.To apply for this award, please submit a one page statement of purpose and a current résumé or C.V. to the Secretary for the Associate Head for Undergraduate Affairs (Carleen McCormick, ) by noon Friday, April 15th. The statement should indicate how you intend to realize your dream of becoming a medical practitioner. An optional letter of recommendation may be included. If you have any questions about this award, please do not hesitate to contact either Carleen McCormick.

Alumni Professional Development Award


Psychology alumni have donated funds to the Shape the Future Today campaign to promote internships. They have created a Professional Development Award. This award will

  • Provide financial support for qualified undergraduate students in psychology who take on unpaid summer internships related to their field of interest .
  • Be given to deserving students each year. Depending on the availability of funds and the quality aof the application, 2 - 5 undergraduate psychology students will be awarded $1,000 - $2,500.


Current UIUC Psychology undergraduate students who have:

  • Secured an unpaid summer internship lasting for at least six weeks with a minimum of 160 hours of total work performed.
  • Will have senior standing at the start of the fall semester.
  • Registered for the Capstone Internship Seminar for the fall semester.
  • Earned a minimum UIUC GPA of 3.0 both in the major and overall.

How to apply:

How to apply:

Submit a completed application packet by email to Gary Wszalek (, by 5 pm Wednesday May 16, 2019.

Application Packet Checklist (one copy of each of the following):

Please contact Gary Wszalek for more information.

Section 2