Diversity Awards

Section 1


Diversity Award Recipients

Over the years, numerous members of the Psychology Department have received recognition and awards for their scholarly and applied work in areas of diversity. A sampling of the most recent ones is below.


Andrew D. Case: Society for Community Research in Action (SCRA) Emory Cowen Dissertation Award

The purpose of the Society for Community Research and Action annual dissertation award is to identify the best doctoral dissertation of the year in the area of promotion of wellness.

Wellness is defined consistent with the conceptualization developed by Emory Cowen to include the promotion of positive well-being and the prevention of dysfunction.

Dissertations of high scholarly excellence that contribute to knowledge about theoretical issues or interventions are eligible for this award. The winners of both dissertation awards will each receive a prize of $100, a one-year complimentary membership in SCRA, and up to $300 in reimbursement for travel expenses in order to receive the award at the APA meeting.

Andrew’s research examines: a) the impact of marginality on the health and life outcomes of ethnic minority populations, and b) the collective processes by which members of these populations are resilient in the face of marginality (e.g., counterspace involvement). Andrew was mentored by Carla Hunter and his dissertation title was: More than Meets the Eye: Exploring a Black Cultural Center as a Counterspace for African American College Students.

Carla D. Hunter, Ph.D.: Kenneth and Mamie Clark Award by the American Psychological Student Association (APAGS)

This APAGS award honors psychologists who have made outstanding contributions to the professional development of ethnic minority graduate students. Part of what makes this award so special and significant is that current students, who are also members of APAGS, must make the nominations. It is clear that Dr. Hunter’s protégés think very highly of her and APAGS applauds her efforts to support the professional development of future psychologists.

Suvarna Menon: 2015 Honoree of the Women’s Resources Center

The Women’s Center, within the Office of Inclusion and Intercultural Relations on campus, recognizes invaluable work on behalf of women internationally.Suvarnaworks with Dr. Nicole Allen and is also an Instructor/Project Coordinator for the department's award-winning Community Advocacy Project.

Nicole Allen and Students: Campus Award for Excellence in Public Engagement (Team Award) for the Psychological Services Center (PSC) Advocacy Project

Each year the campus recognizes outstanding contributions in public engagement to address critical societal issues. The PSC Advocacy Project engages undergraduate and graduate students in an intensive advocacy program serving women survivors of intimate partner violence, and girls at high risk of involvement in the juvenile justice system. The majority of the Project's clients are women and girls of color living in poverty.


Andrew D. Case: Vera S. Paster Award from the American Orthopsychiatric Association

The Vera S. Paster Award was established in 1989 to honor Ortho’s 64th president. It is presented annually to individuals whose work has “significantly contributed to the social, educational, physical and/or psychological well-being of persons of color, thereby promoting their empowerment and ameliorating their disadvantages from oppression and its effects.

Angela L. Walden: Native Childrens' Research Exchange (NCRE) Scholar.

This award provides support for advanced graduate and post-doctoral scholars whose research is focused on Native American children's development. The award includes year-long mentorship with an established researcher in the scholar's area of focus and funding for training opportunities and travel to visit their mentor. As a NCRE Scholar, Angela is working with two Native American research mentors, Amy West (Southern Cheyenne; University of Illinois at Chicago) and Tessa Evans-Campbell (Snohomish; University of Washington) to assist her in planning research focused on Native American adolescents and families living in Chicago.

Miatta Echetebu: Policy Fellowship from the Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (MHSAS) Minority Fellowship Program (MFP)

"The APA MFP is an innovative, comprehensive and coordinated training, mentoring and career development program that enhances psychological and behavioral outcomes of ethnic minority communities. MFP is committed to increasing the number of ethnic minority professionals in the field and advancing our understanding of the life experiences of ethnic minority communities."Fellows are also given an internship in SAMHSA's Office of Behavioral Health Equity over the summer.


Sima Finy: Donald W. Swift Scholarship

Funded by the family of Donald Swift (1924-1993), who was the first student using DRES services to graduate from the University of Illinois, this annual scholarship provides financial assistance and merit-based support for students with disabilities who are served by DRES.

Diversity Awards | Psychology | University of Illinois

Section 2



Facilities Information

Building Remodeling Projects

Click on the title to check out these pictures from the classroom remodeling project in the basement. A second project to replace the elevators will begin in September. Beginning with the freight elevator, each elevator will be out of service for three months. To get quickly from one floor to another, and improve your fitness, we will encourage the use of the stairs. The repainting of the northeast stairwell has been completed, and the painter is starting on the southwest stairwell.

Department Information

Content Coming Soon

Content will be added soon